Sample 3.

Sample 3.

Author: Nixi

Thank you for the interest you have shown in the Kaupthing, Singer and Friedlander (IoM) depositors’ circumstances and for writing to the Chancellor.
On November 27th the court on the Isle of Man will decide if the bank is to be wound up. It is therefore imperative that depositors hear from the Government what actions they are taking to:
1. Return the 550 million GBP deposited by KSF (IoM) in KSF (UK)
2. Press the Icelandic government to honour the guarantee made by the parent bank, Kaupthing, in September 2007.
I can tell you that the following 66 MPs, yourself and probably more are pressing their Front Bench Colleagues or have written (or forwarded depositors’ letters) to the Treasury, Alistair Darling or Jack Straw, the Lord Chancellor, about our situation for the past five weeks but as yet, no satisfactory reply has been forthcoming. It seems the Government may be biding time until it is simply too late.
Mark Field
Mark Francois
George Osborne
Mark Hoban
Andrew Pelling
Henry Bellingham
Margaret Becket
David Cameron
Alistair Burt
Jim Murphy
John Penrose
Gordon Brown!
David Crausby
Malcolm Bruce
Kenneth Clarke
Clare Short
Alan Simpson
Paul Goodman
Nicholas Soames
Gwyn Prosser
Andrew Murrison
Nick Raynesford
David Jones
Ben Wallace
Patrick Mercer
Peter Bottomley
John Austin
Paul Goodman
Karen Buck
Oliver Letwin
Andrew Tyrie
Sir Malcolm Rifkind
James Clappison
Sir George Young
David Clelland
Andy Reed
Bridget Prentice
Eric Martlew
Jeremy Hunt
Andrew George
Crispin Blunt
Andrew Smith
Michael Fallon
Andrew Slaughter
James Plaskitt
Charlotte Atkins
Julia Goldsworthy
Patrick Mercer
John Howell
David Davis
David Maclean
Andrew Mackay
Richard Benyon
Anne Main
Anne Begg
Anne Moffat
Colin Burgon
Robert Key
Peter Luff
William Hague
Nick Gibb
Helen Southworth
Evan Harris
Michael Grove
Philip Davies
Greg Clark

Others have not necessarily written themselves but have cited other MPs’ letters or representations to the government in their replies to depositors:
Dr Liam Fox
Roger Gale
Angela Watkinson
James Paice
Patrick McLoughlin
Nick Clegg
Alan Beith
Julian Brazier
Andrew George
Sandra Gidley
Philip Hammond
Susan Kramer
Andrew Lansley
Vincent Cable
David Lidington
John Redwood
Alan Duncan
George Young

Depositors are very grateful to Mary Creagh MP and those who spoke at the debate in the House on November 6th. The response from the Minister Ian Pearson, however, was evasive and unhelpful.
Please will you act on our behalf and put pressure on the Government to answer the questions put to them and to act before it is too late for the many British citizens whose savings will be substantially lost if the bank is wound up.
Yours sincerely,


Please note that the content of this site is no longer regularly updated, and much of it may be outdated.

See this page for alternative sites.

Main Menu